8th Grade Social Studies

Wednesday, April 23

1. Development of a 2 Party System

2. Election of 1860 Packet, Website, and Discussion

3. Review Crossword/WS

Ch. 18 Test Tomorrow and Project due Tomorrow!


Tuesday, April 22

Happy Easter!

1. Finish Road to Civil War Timeline - Road-to-Civil-War-Timeline.doc

2. Introduce Timeline Project - Road-to-the-Civil-War-Project.doc

3. Atlas WS over Compromises

HW: Ch. 18 Test and Project due Thursday


Wednesday, April 16

1. Ch. 18 Notes Quiz

2. Continue Road to Civil War Timeline and Discussion

Ch. 18 Test Thursday, April 24!


Tuesday, April 15 - Tax Day!

1. Review North and South Questions

2. Review WS - Compromises and Quotes

Ch. 18 Test Wednesday, April 23


Monday, April 14

Continue North and South Clips and Questions - Harpers Ferry, John Brown, Election of 1860


Friday, April 11

North and South Clips and Questions


Thursday, April 10

With crazy scheduling due to testing and many absences - homework/catch-up day -

Finish reading Ch. 18 and turn in any missing assignments!


Wednesday, April 9

1. Continue timeline through 1850

2. Finish mapping compromises

HW: read/notes 18.2


Tuesday, April 8

1. Tests back - great work!

2. 18.1 Notes Quiz

3. Start mapping the compromises over slavery on 1860 US map


Monday, April 7

1. Introduce new unit - Road to the Civil War

2. Brainstorm list of all events and people from this year that leads to the Civil War

3. Start Civil War Timeline

4. HW: read/notes 18.1


Friday, April 4

North and South Test

Current Events if time!


Thursday, April 3

2nd hour - took 1/2 of test today - other 1/2 tomorrow!!

3rd and 7th hours - reviewed article, WS and video clips to review Chapter 13 The North, board races!  Test tomorrow!


Wednesday, April 2

2nd hour - Test tomorrow over Ch. 13 and Ch. 14 - Reviewed today

3rd and 7th hours - finish Southern culture WS, Slave resistance WS, Read/questions on justifying slavery article due tomorrow - Test Friday!


Tuesday, April 1

1. Quick notes quiz

2. Southern Culture WS

3. Slavery as a Positive Good Discussion from John C. Calhoun

Test Friday


Monday, March 31

1. Slave Spirituals - Listen, analyze, draw comparisons

2. Slave Resistance WS

HW: finish reading/notes for 14.3 and 14.4 - Ch. 13 and Ch. 14 Test Friday


Friday, March 28

1. Cotton Boom Hand-out

2. Read/notes 14.3


Thursday, March 27

1. Finish and discuss North and South clips

2. Cotton Boom Map WS


Wednesday, March 26

North and South Mini-Series Part I

HW: finish reading/notes 14.2


Tuesday, March 25

1. CNN Student News

2. Family Tree of the North and the South Mini-Series

3. Read/notes 14.1 - The South


Friday, March 14

Current Events - Edward Snowden, Ukraine, etc.

Have a relaxing Spring Break!


Thursday, March 13

Current Event Day - CNN Student News and Junior Scholastic

Ch. 13 Test will be after spring break due to the many absences yesterday, today, and tomorrow.


Wednesday, March 12

1. Open notes quiz Ch. 13

2. 1/2 of Episode 4 of America the Story of US - Division (due to Seussical performances at Rose Estates during 7th hour)


Tuesday, March 11

1. Analyze political cartoon WS

2. Review WS on both 13.1 and 13.2

HW: finish reading/notes on 13.3 and 13.4, Chapter 13 Test Friday


Monday, March 10

1. Work on and review primary source packet

2. Read/notes 13.3


Friday, March 7

1. CNN Student News/Current Events

2. Lowell Mills Time Table Analysis

3. Start primary source packet

Ch. 13 Test Thursday or Friday


Thursday, March 6

1. Quick notes quiz

2. Review 13.1 PPT Notes


Wednesday, March 5

1. Review WS

2. Skit on the Industrial Revolution

3. Primary Source Reading and Questions

HW: read/notes 13.2


Tuesday, March 4

1. CNN Student News and Current Events - Ukraine, Iran, Oscar win for 12 Years a slave, etc.

2. Read/answer questions over article, The North Develops an Industrial Economy

Great work 8th grade - both on the Mardi Gras Parade and Seussical the Musical!


Friday, February 28

1. Review Geography Challenge - N v. S WS

2. CNN Student News


Thursday, February 27

1. Introduction of new unit - and what's to come the rest of the year!

2. Analysis of North and South Images - 2 Worlds

3. Geography Challenge - North v. South


Wednesday, February 26

Ch. 17 Manifest Destiny Test

HW: read/notes 13.1 - The North


Tuesday, February 25

1. Review "Why They Went West"

2. Review WS

Open Note Test Tomorrow - Ch. 17


Monday, February 24

Current Events Day - Junior Scholastic and CNN Student News


Friday, February 21

1. Read/notes 17.4

2. Why They Went West - Finish with partner

3. Read Levi Strauss Article - Levi Jeans

Test Tuesday over Ch. 17


Thursday, February 20

1. Expansion of the U.S. - identify and explain each land acquisition

2. Review primary sources

HW: read/notes 17.3


Wednesday, February 19

1. Why They Went West WS - work with partner and then review as a class

2. CNN Student News

HW: Read both primary sources - mark up and answer the questions for both of them - indicate where in the source you found the answers by putting a Q#1, Q#2, etc. throughout the reading


Friday, February 14

1. Quick notes quiz

2. Atlas WS

3. Primary Source Packet - Opposition to the Mexican War


Thursday, February 13

1. Manifest Destiny Reading Comprehension Article and Questions

2. Get your creative juices flowing!  Create a slogan to represent Manifest Destiny from the perspective of the Mexicans, Americans, or Native Americans.  Great work on this today!

3. Begin review of 17.1 PPT Notes

HW: read/notes 17.2


Wednesday, February 12

1. Share and review clip from yestereday

2. Manifest Destiny Group Inquiry

3. Review last test


Tuesday, February 11

Far and Away Clip - List everything you see related to Manifest Destiny/Westward Expansion!

HW: finish reading/notes 17.1


Monday, February 10

Ch. 16 Test

Start reading/notes 17.1


Friday, February 7

1. Finish America the Story of Us - Westward

2. Turn in last test

3. Review with notecards

4. Review with white boards

HW: Ch. 16 Test Monday!


Monday, February 3

1. Present projects on Westward Expansion

2. Begin working on 20 flashcards for Ch. 16 test Wednesday - notecards due tomorrow!


Thursday, January 30

A very short class today - we watched 1/2 of the episode Westward from America the Story of Us.  Rap/Song projects due Monday with Ch. 16 Test Wednesday!


Wednesday, January 29 - Happy Birthday, Kansas!

1. Quick notes quiz

2. Time to work with group on project - due Monday!


Tuesday, January 28

1. CNN Student News - State of the Union, etc.

2. Time to work on project

HW: read/notes 16.4 and 16.5 due tomorrow - project due Monday, test Tuesday!


Monday, January 27

1. Introduce and review rubric over Westward Expansion Song/Rap -

2. Get groups and topics for project

3. Time to read/notes 16.4 and 16.5 - due Wednesday!


Friday, January 24

1. Open notes quest

2. Read/notes 16.3 - finish for Monday - We will start our projects over 16.4 and 16.5 next week!


Thursday, January 23

1. Answer Alamo Questions with your neighbor

2. Quick reflection essay on Alamo clip

3. Map additional symbols from 16.1 and 16.2 on Spanish Southwest Map - Share with class


Wednesday, January 22

1. Begin discussion of Chapter 16 with PPT Notes

2. Watch last 30 minutes of The Alamo to see martyrs of the cause for Texas independence as well as the final battle of San Jacinto.


Tuesday, January 21

1. CNN Student News - MLK Jr. Day

2. Manifest Destiny Image - quote bubbles!

3. Map symbols associated with 16.1 on Southwest U.S. map


Friday, January 17

Ch. 12 Test Today

HW: read/notes 16.1


Thursday, January 16

1. Finish partner poster presentations on Jacksonian America

2. Review WS

Test Ch. 12 Tomorrow!


Wednesday, January 15

1. Notes Quiz

2. Finish posters on Jacksonian America

3. Begin Presenting Posters

HW: Review WS due tomorrow, Test Ch. 12 on Friday!


Tuesday, January 14

1. Finish reading/notes 12.3

2. Begin Partner Poster Project over Jacksonian America -

HW: read/notes 12.4, Ch. 12 Test Friday


Monday, January 13

1. Begin 12.3 PPT Notes and discussion of Jacksonian America

2. Finish reading 12.3 - Test on Ch. 12 Thursday or Friday


Friday, January 10

1. Review WS over 12.1 and 12.2

2. Who gets to vote simulation - from 1787 to today


Thursday, January 9

1. Election of 1824 WS and Website

2. 12.2 PPT

3. Share projects (if needed) over War of 1812

HW: read/notes first 1/2 of 12.3


Wednesday, January 8

Last John Adams Clip - Adams and Jefferson die July 4, 1826.


Tuesday, January 7

1. Open notes quiz over 12.1 and 12.2

2. Election of 1824 WS and Website


Friday, January 3

1. Review 12.1 PPT Notes -

2. Finish Mapping Expansion of U.S.

3. HW: read/notes 12.2


Thursday, January 2, 2014

1. Read/notes 12.1

2. Mapping the Expansion of the U.S.